Chunky Nutty Granola Bars

I am so excited to share this recipe with you. I was keeping this for my secret project BUT have had so many of you ask if I could share it so here it is.

So why do I love this recipe so much? Well I am all for keeping things not only healthy but simple. This recipe not only makes the most delicious granola bars but can also be made into chunky nutty granola, perfect for busy mornings. I love having this with some coconut milk and fresh berries or taking the bars with me for a healthy on the go snack. Which ever way you decide to go you won’t be disappointed.

If you are like me and can’t decide, use half the recipe for granola bars and the other half for granola. Both can be stored in a airtight container for up to a week but I guarantee they won’t last that long.

Chunky Nutty Granola Bars

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup of buckwheat
  • 1/2 cup of rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup of puffed rice
  • 1/4 cup of sunflower seeds
  • 1/4 cup pumpkin seeds
  • 2 tbsp linseeds
  • 1 cup of chopped nuts
  • Pinch of himalayan salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 TSP of vanilla
  • 1/2 cup of honey/maple syrup
  • 1/2 cup of melted coconut oil
  • 3 tbsp of nut butter

Method:

Pre heat oven to 180 degrees C and line a baking tray with baking paper (for granola) or grease a silicon mould (for bars, I used mini loaf moulds).

In a large bowl add all dry ingredients giving it a real good mix.

Now add all wet ingredients and stir. The mixture should be well coated with the wet ingredients and slightly sticky. This will allow it to set nicely once cooled.

Now with wet finger tips, press the mixture into the base of the moulds if making the granola bars. You want them to be around 1.5 cm thick. If making granola simply spread the mixture out onto the baking paper.

Place in oven and bake for 15 mins or until golden.

Remove from oven and leave to cool completley.

Store in an airtight container.

Leave a comment